Making piping – a couple of tips for happier sewing!

I find when I’m making piping that sometimes a bit of the stitching from encasing the cord will show when it is sewn into the bag, cushion or whatever it is I am constructing. Here’s how I get around that problem.

22855920782_4d6ae7cbf7

I use a glue pen to encase the piping, sticking the raw edges together, so I have stitch free binding ready to sew into my project. Ta da!

22843419376_af15c4baf2

If you’re new to making piping, the most perplexing thing may be how wide to cut your strips. It took me ages to get it right. Measure the circumference of the cord and add double your seam allowance measurement plus 1/8″. So my cord here is 1/8″ – it measures 1/2″ in circumference. As I am a quilter I use 1/4″ seam allowances.


1/2″ + 1/2″ + 1/8″ = 1 1/8″ wide fabric strips for 1/8″ cord.

Piping can make a good bag great, it’s an extra little detail that makes your sewn items look more professional and have a smarter finish. Why not try it in your next project?

GET A FREE SEWING PATTERN!
If you have sewn anything from the patterns available on patternstoprint.com we would love you to share your pictures! Maybe you have made a Mrs H bag, or an Emmaline Necessary Clutch Wallet?

If we use your picture in our email newsletter you will receive a pattern of your choice for free!

Email your pictures to infoATpatternstoprint.com and make sure you subscribe to the newsletter here!

Leave a Reply

